thoughts.


dream, dream, dreaaamm!
December 28, 2008, 11:10 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Last night I had a weird dream. The part that I remember starts with me walking home from school in the country. I’m walking along a dirt road when I suddenly spot a mountain lion about 50 yards in front of me. It’s not facing me, so I start slowly walking the opposite way so I don’t catch it’s attention. I keep looking back to make sure that it hasn’t seen me. I thought about climbing the fence and walking through the field, but I figured that it could jump the fence easily if it heard me. Once I was far enough away, I started to run…. but that caught it’s attention! I stopped running, tried to make myself seem as big as possible (idk… I guess that might work? haha) and I made loud sounds. That.did.not.work. I was totally being stalked by a mountain lion. The stupid thing even PASSED a deer on its way to chase me and didn’t even blink. At this point, dream-me is starting to get freaked out a bit (understatement).

mountain_lion

Suddenly, a truck pulling a long horse trailor pulls onto the road and I flag them down. In the truck, there are two women and a baby. They let me in the truck, and I escape the mountain lion. In the truck, I tell them that I had just moved to the area and I tried to explain to them where I moved from… they were a bit clueless, but they saved me nonetheless!

…Then I woke up. Being curious about my dream, I did some research on dream interpretation (all in blue) and came up with this:

“I’m Being Chased”

Chase dreams often stem from feelings of anxiety in your walking life. The way we respond to anxiety and pressure in real life is typically manifested as a chase dream. Running is an instinctive response to physical threats in our environment. Often in these dream scenarios, you are being pursued by some attacker, who wants to hurt or possibly kill you. You are running away, hiding, or trying to outwit your pursuer. Chase dreams may represent your way of coping with fears, stress or various situations in your waking life. Instead of confronting the situation, you are running away and avoiding it. Ask yourself who is the one chasing you and you may gain some understanding and insight on the source of your fears and pressure.

The pursuer or attacker who is chasing you in your dream may also represent a part of yourself. Your own feelings of anger, jealousy, fear, and possibly love, can assume the appearance of threatening figure. You may be projecting these feelings onto the unknown chaser. Next time you have a chase dream, turn around and confront your pursuer. Ask them why they are chasing you.

One may be consumed by their own anger, jealousy, love, or self-destructive behavior. For example, you may be drinking too much or exhibiting open hostility toward others around you. You may subconsciously be threatened by these actions which have been jeopardizing your relationships and/or career. Your dreams are a way of calling attention to these self-destructive actions.

A more direct analysis of chase dreams is the fear of being attacked. Such dreams are more common among women than men, who may feel physically vulnerable in the urban environment. These dreams are inspired by fears of violence and sexual assault in which we are so over-exposed from the media. The violence that the media portrays magnifies our fears and how at risk we all are.

Mountain Lion
To see a mountain lion in your dream, represents lurking danger, aggression and raw emotions. You need to keep your attitude and emotions in check. Alternatively, mountain lions symbolize pride and grace.

Deer
To see a deer in your dream, symbolizes grace, gentleness, and natural beauty. It has feminine qualities and may point to the feminine aspect within yourself. It also represents independence and virility. Consider the symbol to be a pun for someone who is “dear” to you…

Road
To see a road in your dream, indicates your sense of direction and pursuit of your goals. To see a winding, curvy, or bumpy road in your dream, suggests that you will encounter many obstacles and setbacks toward achieving your goals. You may be met with unexpected difficulties. If the road is dark, then it reflects the darker or more frightening choices which you have made or are making.

Truck
To see a truck in your dream, implies that you are overworked. You may be taking on too many tasks and responsibilities and are weighing you down…

Woman
To see a woman in your dream, represents nurturance, passivity, caring nature, and love. It refers to your own female aspects or may also represent your mother. Alternatively, it may indicate temptation and guilt. If you know the woman, then it may symbolize the concerns and feelings you have about her…

Running
To dream that you are running away from someone, indicates an issue that you are trying to avoid. You are not taking or accepting responsibility for your actions. In particular, if you are running from an attacker or any danger, then it suggests that you are not facing and confronting your fears…

Fence
To see a fence in your dream, signifies an obstacle or barrier that may be standing on your path. You may feel confined and restricted in expressing yourself. Are you feeling fenced in? Alternatively, it may symbolize a need for privacy. You may want to shut off the rest of the world…

Moving
To dream that you are moving away, signifies your desire or need for change. It may also mean an end to a situation or relationship; you are moving on. Alternatively, it indicates your determination and issues regarding dependence/independence…

Pretty interesting. I have no clue what I think it means, but it’s always nice to see what “dream science” says.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So did we wake you up this morning? I’m totally a deer and you’re totally running away from making out with the boys we know 😀

Comment by Kelkel

nah haha i woke up at like 10

i have no clue why i have such strange dreams… i should write them here more often!

Comment by smellanizer




Leave a Reply

